25 Random Facts, Things, Etc About Dave (FACEBOOK NOTE)

This is going to be tricky because I possess little to no shame (or I’m very honest, whichever sounds better) so it’s tough to surprise people. Well, here we go…

Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.
(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish).

1.) I was seriously considering entering the priesthood back in middle school. My transition to agnosticism (the “I don’t know!” position) was abrupt due to a philosophy class in high school that somehow awakened the dormant rationality in my noggin. Full credit goes to Mr. Sullivan, who has no idea how important his class was for me.

2.) I absolutely do NOT love New York and refuse to settle down in any of the original 13 colonies.

3.) When it comes to music I only like particular singles and rarely, if ever, like any “group”. Example: I like “Cheap and Cheerful” by the Kills but the rest of their music sucks. The one band I universally love: Genesis. I’m an 80’s guy. SURPRISE!

4.) I have insanely good luck. If I didn’t, I’d have half a dozen life-term sentences and, even more likely, be dead.

5.) I have a gigantic family and, despite having a huge difference in religious/political thinking with many of them, I wouldn’t trade ’em for anything. I think some of them suspect I hate or resent them. I don’t.

6.) I think the term “man-whore” is redundant.

7.) I follow politics, but I hate them. I was/am a huge Obama supporter but I’m not a democrat and I’m not a liberal. I’m a rationalist. Whoever makes sense gets my vote.

8.) I’ve only been to a bar once while completely sober. Pre-gaming is the way to go.

9.) Little known fact: I DO have ethics. Sure, I’ve tried a drug or two, made some drunken mistakes, broke a handful of laws… but I’ve never betrayed friends or family. I’m loyal and value those that are loyal in return. Trust and respect are vital to me.

10.) I really don’t like my dog, Tara. She’s the most dismissive animal I’ve ever encountered. Most animals love me but when I visit my parent’s she just looks at me like a tree. “Oh… it’s you.” Fuck you, you stupid old dog.

11.) The animated Grinch special has brought me to tears more than once while sober.

12.) I’m stubborn but I am very open-minded. How does that work you ask? I’ll admit when you have a good point but I’ll keep doing the same thing until I learn that point on my own. Usually.

13.) I tried cocaine once and only once. I liked it and do not regret it… but I have no intention to try it again.

14.) I have OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder). It caused me to wash my hands alot when I was younger, but has otherwise subsided. I was told I’d need to be on medication for the rest of my life in order to function. I haven’t had meds for over 7 years. I’ve also been told I should be on Prilosec for acid reflux but I refused. Also was told to have daily injections for my back pain. Again, I refused. All symptoms have vanished and I haven’t even had a cold for 3+ years now. Doctors are full of shit sometimes.

15.) I’ve been in love once and was almost engaged but my ability to trust has only been shaken, not stirred.

15.5) If you recognized the above as a James Bond reference, pat yourself on the back.

16.) I had both my artwork and written work published by age 16 and earned a black belt in Taekwondo shortly after. Go me.

17.) I despise organized religions, but not religious people. I respect those who believe in God as long as it doesn’t directly/indirectly cause harm to others. Unfortunately, it usually does.

18.) I’m conflicted about whether to have a career as a graphic designer, illustrator, voice actor, actor, college art professor, or writer (and do a lesser extent, psychiatrist or lawyer). I’ll eventually move to Los Angeles and see which skill takes off (or doesn’t) and go from there.

19.) I look down on adults who go to movies like Stealth, Eragon, Mall Cop, and Santa Clause 3. These movies aren’t “fun” or “cute”… they suck. A movie isn’t good because of subjective taste. There ARE standards. Good movie examples: American Beauty, Magnolia, No Country For Old Men, A Beautiful Mind.

20.) I fully believe that a mild to moderate consumption of alcohol is good for your health. Those that have never had a drink in their life and are over 21 confuse me.

21.) If I poke you on facebook, it means I’m attracted to you. I don’t do it arbitrarily to say “hi”.

22.) Above all else, I appreciate intelligent conversation and tend to have the best ones over drinks. I’ve had some incredible discussions about the meaning of life, politics, philosophy, etc while under the influence and wish I had recorded them somehow.

23.) Without a sense of humor, you might as well wrap your lips around the end of a shotgun (that’s what she said?). Laughter is life and the only thing to keep us all sane on this planet.

24.) I’ve been an extra in a foreign film, a mall Santa Clause, will soon be the Easter Bunny. I have a strange mix of sadness and pride over the latter two.

25.) I appreciate honesty and open communication. Lay it out there in black and white, don’t sugar coat it. But don’t be a bitch/ass either. There’s a fine line but the balance isn’t hard to achieve. I like to think I’ve achieved it…

25.5) I wrote all of this while drunk off a liter of wine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

