High School Flashbacks (FACEBOOK NOTE)

Don’t feel obligated to fill one of these out. If I hadn’t been bored waiting for my laundry to finish I wouldn’t have bothered myself. I attempted to tag everyone from Mohon but I’m certain I missed more than a few.


1. Did you date someone from your school? 
No, but not for lack of trying.

2. Did you marry someone from your high school?
The above kinda answers this one.

3. Did you car pool to school? 
I took the bus all 4 years. Which was kinda fun because in 9th grade I was picked on, but by junior/senior year I was the tall “old” guy on the bus. Seniority + towering height = “respect”. I actually wound up doing a lot of improv comedy rants for my busmates. Even if they didn’t laugh, I know I did.

4. What kind of car did you have?
I didn’t have one in high school and since my college was in the middle of nowhere I didn’t even have one then either. After I graduated I got my parents’ Plymouth Voyager. I’m the envy of soccer moms everywhere. Also, the back two rows of seats can be taken out which leaves plenty of room for a blow-up mattress. Nice.

5. What kind of car do you have now?
The Voyager is still ticking. I occasionally pat the dashboard and quote Han Solo. “Hold together, baby, hold together.”

6. It’s Friday night, where are you? 
Usually working until 8pm then a gym workout. After that I relax/drink, see a movie, play poker, shoplift, sexy time… something like that. 😉

7. What kind of job did you have in high school? 
Price Chopper. 2nd worst job I’ve ever had, topped only by Adirondack Records Management (manual labor in an unheated warehouse for the month of February).

8. What kind of job do you do now?
Medicare Sales temp job at CDPHP, immediately following with a 6-week stint as the mall Easter Bunny. Hopefully getting placed with the state and if not… well… unemployment benefits are solid, right?

9. Were you a party animal? 
In high school?? Haha not at all. Never drank, smoke, or really attended parties in general. On the plus side, my grades were high enough to get me into Alfred University which was recently ranked the #1 best college value in the Northeast. Eat it, bitches.

10. Were you considered a flirt?
In high school, no. Nowadays it depends on my level of intoxication. 

11. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
No, though I did take private piano lessons for a couple years. 

12. Were you a nerd?
No, I was a geek. Comic books, cartoons, collected Beast Wars Transformers, etc. Nerds are the Dungeons and Dragons crowd with the thick glasses and have a high nasally voices. Big difference.

13. Did you get suspended or expelled?
Yes, for calling a kid a bagel. I’d explain this further but it involves too much stupidity on behalf of the powers that were. Fuck you, Genzer.

14. Can you sing the fight song? 
I can’t really sing in general nor do I know what the fight song is so… yes.

15. Who was/were your favorite teacher(s)?
Mr. Turin, Mrs. Rowbo > fantastic art teachers; Mr. Sullivan > philosophy class completely shifted my way of thinking; Mrs. Capullo > aside from just plain being a good math teacher (got a 98 on the regents exam) she was also GORGEOUS which kept me awake. And I gotta mention Sarbello and Furman because they were so bad but the butt of so many good jokes that they were redeemed.

Hehe… butt.

16. Where did you sit during lunch? Every year I seemed to be with a different group. There was the Nate, Gabby, Flynn table… the Smitty, Soko, Shaw, Mattice table… the Jordan, Downes, Weinhold table… I sat where I was most free to speak my mind. Interestingly this was always in a corner or against a wall. However, I didn’t give a shit if there was anyone to sit with on Italian Dunker Day. Top that off with a chocolate milk bag and that was satisfying in itself.

17. What was your school’s full name? 
Mohonasen High School

18. When did you graduate? 
2003

19. What was you school mascot? 
Some variation of a Native American tho I never actually saw a mascot. I think “The Warrior” was just brainwashed into our heads. It was indisputably lame. 

20. If you could go back and do it again, would you?
As long as I could retain the knowledge I currently possess, absolutely. Otherwise forget it. 

21. Did you have fun at Prom? 
I only went to the Senior Prom, but I got asked by the girl I’d had a crush on since grade school and had my first ever dance which apparently I was decent at. Plus the chocolate mousse was delicious. And I won a vacuum at the afterglow, which sucked in more than one way (the vacuum, not the afterglow… afterglow had lots of free pizza and free pizza = goodness). 

22. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with?
Not on a regular basis, but we’re still in contact (though not as much as I’d like).

23. Are you planning on going to your next reunion? 
Oh definitely. I’ve gone through a lot of changes since high school and I’m curious to see where everyone else is at. 

24. Do you still talk to people from school? 
I have occasional facebook contact with a decent number, but hang out with maybe half a dozen.

Leave a Reply

