LOOKING BACK ON 2009… (FACEBOOK NOTE)

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
(1) Posed as a reporter and somehow was permitted by the Secret Service to be right up there with CNN and the like to see Air Force One/Obama land in Albany. (2) Worked as the mall Easter Bunny. (3) Had an affair with a married woman. (4) Buried two people that I loved very, very much. 

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Perhaps try and be less focused and driven by preparing for the future and enjoy the present a bit more. I may not be in California yet working for Pixar, but I saw the President… I had a fun trip to NYC and went to Coney Island for the first time… I went in the ocean for the first time in at least 8 years… I went to Six Flags… I’ve been making some of the best ink drawings of my life… I have an iMac with the programs that will finally allow me to make a short cartoon I’ve been plotting for almost a year… I need to appreciate what’s happening NOW. The future will be here soon enough.

3. Do you know anyone who gave birth?
My older cousins are popping kids out left and right so it’s hard to keep track… but yes, one (or two?) were born this year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yes, this year was a strong reminder of my own mortality. My grandfather passed away of natural causes in his home, though sooner and more suddenly than anyone thought. In many ways he was my father figure and absolutely the “leader” of one helluva giant family (10 kids, 37 grandkids, 8 great-grandkids). One of my closest cousins (Peter, named after our grandfather) also passed away from committing suicide at age 19 just 13 days after our grandpa died. It’s fair to speculate that it had a devastating impact on him and he already suffered from depression… the combination was too much. And I thought burying my grandfather was tough.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. 

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
A concrete direction in life. Specifically, a job that truly takes advantage of my creativity and ideally located in California. A girlfriend would be nice. Playing the field gets… tiresome.

7. What date(s) from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Jan 20 (Obama sworn in), Sept 21 (saw Air Force One), August 14 (new apartment), September 29 (grandpa died), October 12 (cousin died). 

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Aside from the new job and apartment? Having my grand larceny felony charge dropped. Suck it, Colonie. 

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not sure. There weren’t many.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope, my health has been incredible since graduating college (and a good thing since I’ve never had insurance). I have had a couple bizarre “attacks” that have led doctors to theorize that I have a brain aneurysm but I can’t afford the MRI to find out for sure ($3800). BUT OTHER THAN THAT…..

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A 24″ iMac. Goodbye forever, PC.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Most goes into my savings account or stocks. I’m good with money, what can I say?

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Did I mention I saw the President and had a felony charge dropped?

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
“Mad World” by Gary Jules.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
Happier or sadder? Happier in some ways, sadder in others.
Thinner or fatter? About the same.
Richer or poorer? Actually almost exactly the same as last year, which is pretty good considering I spent 6 months of 2009 unemployed! Should have 15K in the bank by July if I crunched the number correctly. 

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Artwork. For some reason I’ve been procrastinating a lot yet I’ve probably had more time and more ideas than ever. I intend to complete all of them this year and then some.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Mourning. 

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Christmas is over, Question King.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?
I’m starting to think I’m not cut out for love.

23. How many one-night stands?
None this year. A step up from 2008 (depending on how you look at it).

24. What was your favorite TV program?
House. Dexter. Breaking Bad. Rescue Me. Daily Show.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Nah.

No longer respect? 
Oh, yes.

26. What was the best book you read?
Why We Suck, by Denis Leary. A close runner-up tho I’ve barely started it: House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies. 

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Nothing big, really. I’ve always loved the music used in movie trailers and finally discovered that the majority is done by a group called Immediate Music so I finally tracked down my favorites. (here’s one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4Jf6r6BU2A). Here’s one from another group called X-Ray Dog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yWPkV_cEQc. Love that one too.

28. What did you want and get?
Stable, reliable income. My new work as a tutor is fitting the bill, though I don’t know if I’ll have the patience to continue for a second year or not yet.

29. What did you want and not get?
Closure. But I’ve been waiting almost 2 years for that so perhaps that’s the same thing.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
TOP 5: Up, Inglorious Basterds, A Serious Man, Up in the Air, District 9.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Nothing big. Dinner with family, etc. Turned 24.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Starting a career in Hollywood. Voice-acting, writing, or storyboarding… or a combo of all three. 

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Unchanged. 

34. What kept you sane?
Good friends, some family, creative bursts, alcohol, and of course The Adirondacks.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I am a fan of Obama, no doubt about it, but that has simmered a bit as he’s been compromising more than I’d have liked on several issues. Still glad he’s in office, tho.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Health Care Reform. 

37. Who did you miss?
Grandpa, Peter (obv). Derek and Kevin from college. Kellen, who vanished off the face of the Earth without notice. Kym.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Didn’t meet a ton of new people this year. Kaysie, Emily, and Erin were all cool from my Santa/Bunny gigs and my new landlord is terrific. 

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:
Life is fragile. Enjoy the little things.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
It’s not what you thought
When you first began it.
You got what you want
And You can hardly stand it though
But now you know
That it’s not going to stop.
It’s not going to stop.
It’s not going to stop.
Till you wise up…

Leave a Reply

